Leadership Awards

The Florida Alliance for Arts Education recognizes leaders who work in various capacities to ensure that arts education is available in all Florida schools and communities and that arts education is of the highest quality. Leadership in the areas of education, administration, and community are recognized.

2020 FAAE Leadership Award Recipients

Administrator - District

Scott Evans
District Arts Supervisor
Orange County Public Schools

Administrator - Principal

Jay Bidwell
Wewahitchka High School
Gulf County

Arts Education Professional

Theresa West-Taylo
Lee County
(N Fort Myers Academy for the Arts)

Business Leader

Larry Tobin
Orange County

Community Volunteer

Melba Luciano
Osceola County

Elected Official

Lynn Gray
Hillsborough School Board Member

Superintendent’s Award

Dr. Diana Greene
Duval County

School Board Award

Orange County Public Schools

ACE of Hearts

Dr. Daryl Ward
Southeastern University
Polk County

Doris Leeper

Xavier Cortada
Visual Artist
Miami-Dade County

Trailblazer Award

Jeanne Reynolds
Pinellas County Schools

Past FAAE Leadership Award Recipients

ACE of Hearts

Commissioner Beam Furr
Broward County

Arts Education Professional

Dean Maggie Cuesta
New World School of the Arts
Miami-Dade County

Business Leader

Florida Theatrical Association
Larry Watchorn & Kenny Howard
Orange County

Community Volunteer

Dr. Jane Walker Lindberg
Arts Alive Nassau
Nassau County

Dr. Mary Palmer Trailblazer Legacy Award

Nancy Roucher

Elected Officials

Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith
Orange (FL House of Rep)

Sen. Perry Thurston
Broward (FL Senate)

School Administrator

Joanne Crowder
Marion County Schools
Note: Heidi Fyock Maier (Superintendent, Marion County) received on her behalf.


Dr. Donald Fennoy II
Palm Beach County Schools

Retirement Award

Sherron Long
Florida Cultural Alliance